About AHEC

Health Promotions Fair

Area Health Education Center (AHEC) programs were developed as a result of the Carnegie Commission's Report on Higher Education and the Nation's Health in 1970. Funding support for the AHEC programs and centers combine federal, state and/or private resources.

East Texas AHEC is made up of nine regionally located centers that spann 111 Eastern Texas counties. Each of the centers, like Lake Country AHEC, develops and coordinates programs to support the needs of the communities within its respective Service area.

25 Counties served by Lake Country AHEC

AHEC Counties

Established in 1995, Lake Country AHEC works all stages of the health care prfession career cycle. We:

AHEC covers the following East Texas Counties:

Bowie Marion
Camp Morris
Cass Panola
Delta Rains
Fannin Red River
Franklin Rockwall
Gregg Rusk
Harrison Smith
Henderson Titus
Hopkins Upshur
Hunt Van Zandt
Kaufman Wood